People Tool versus Photo Roster
Within your Canvas course site, you will see that you have two roster tools: People and Photo Roster. This guide is designed to help you understand the differences uses of each tool.
This is the roster tool created by Canvas. Students are able to see this tool and can see other people on this list. From here, you can manually enroll users, as well as create new group sets.
This is the roster tool created by Yale. Only users with an Instructor or TA role will be able to see this tool. Although other roles can see it on the course site navigation, it will appear blank and no student information will be provided. There are two different views: "Photo Roster" and "List View"
Photo Roster View
This is the default view and shows the a user's name, NameCoach (if one exists), course role, class, major, and email address. It will also show student ID photos.
For more help, please contact email@example.com.